Being injured in a commercial truck accident can result in traumatic injuries. Passenger vehicles do not withstand the impact from such a heavy, large vehicle very well. Approximately 72 percent of the deaths in large truck accidents in 2016 were occupants of other vehicles. The individuals who survive crashes with large trucks can face life-altering conditions because of their injuries.
Because your truck accident claim could total hundreds, if not millions of dollars, you want to make sure that you take all legal steps to ensure your case is strong. However, there is one thing that you could do that could destroy your large truck accident claim before you file the first demand — Louisiana’s No Pay No Play law.
Car Insurance Requirements in Louisiana
All drivers are required to carry minimum liability insurance coverage in Louisiana. Drivers must carry a minimum of $15,000/$30,000 (single victim/per incident) in liability coverage for injuries caused to another person. Drivers must also carry $25,000 for damage to property. Drivers have the option of purchasing higher coverage amounts and additional car insurance coverage, including MedPay, Uninsured, Underinsured, Collision, Comprehensive, and other coverages.
Failing to carry the minimum car insurance coverage can have several consequences. You could lose your driving privileges, be charged with a fine, and have your vehicle impounded. However, another serious consequence of failing to have car insurance in Louisiana is the state’s “No Pay, No Play” law.
What is No Pay, No Play in Louisiana?
As an additional incentive to ensure all drivers maintain a current car insurance policy, the state enacted what many people refer to as the “No Pay, No Play” law.
If you are an uninsured driver involved in a car accident, your ability to recover compensation is restricted. The law states that uninsured drivers may not recover the first $15,000 in bodily injury damages from the at-fault driver. Therefore, even though you were not at fault, the truck driver nor any other party is responsible for the first $15,000 in damages you sustain. In addition, you are not permitted to recover the first $25,000 in property damage claims if you are uninsured.
Do the amounts sound familiar? They are the minimum coverage every driver should have in Louisiana. Therefore, Louisiana is punishing uninsured drivers for failing to purchase an insurance policy that covers at least the minimum amounts required by law by restricting their recovery in a personal injury claim.
While there are a few exceptions to the rule, do not risk it. A truck accident typically results in more than $15,000 in bodily injury damages. You do not want to give up your right to recover full compensation from the at-fault party because you failed to obtain car insurance in Louisiana.
Contact a Louisiana Truck Accident Attorney for Help
Truck accident claims are complex and difficult to process. Large trucking companies and their insurance providers can make it difficult for an accident victim to receive a fair settlement.
Instead of handling the claim yourself, let us do the work and protect your legal rights at the same time.
Call (504) 587-1440 or 1-800-587-1889 for your free legal consultation with a New Orleans truck accident attorney. Attorney Fred Olinde and the entire legal team of The Olinde Firm are here to help you when you need a trusted source of legal advice.